Skip to content

On the first day of Christmas…

November 3, 2012

We are well into silly season now, make no mistake about it.  Everyone has a certain event / tipping point / threshold when it comes to acknowledging the arrival of the festive season.  In London, many people go by Selfridges kitting out its Christmas Store, however with the yellow peril decking the halls on 02 August 2012, I think that is too much – even for someone as festive as me.

Christmas adverts tend to be a clincher for many – especially that Coca Cola advert – you know the one I mean – 12 November people!  Others go by the annual return of the X Factor; though not for much longer if the rumour mill is to be believed…

One of my pals sings in Christmas with the arrival of the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park – the overcrowded, dirty yet fantastic spectacle of Christmas-on-Crack is due to return on 23 November – a sensible day to cheer in the holidays.  Others simply wait until the clocks go back.

I have my own Christmas countdown day – a day that sees a major shift in lifestyle as we snake towards the arrival of Mr. Kringle.  It’s also a day that means a great deal to me.

So, to round off the title of this post;

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

The red Starbucks cup.  And the Praline Mocha.

Here we go! Happy freakin’ holidays!

No comments yet

Leave a comment